Ability Books Perspective from a New Player

Hello all!
I started playing a week or so ago. Loved my time on the game. Really brought me back to the good ole UO days...
I've met some awesome people and get to play with my friends but....
While out and about I run into pk's all the time. I love that! Except, they have ability books and I don't.
Makes a HUGE difference. I've got little to no chance since I don't have any abilities (currently I'm 4 GM & 2 skills 95+ with 500+ hp and some resists). I've asked around to find out where I can find some ability books only to hear that they nerfed the drop rates right before I got the game...
and to buy some ridiculously overpriced ability books off people who got them when they were easy to acquire...
So... All new folks or people who didn't farm those spots are SoL?
Does this mean I should just stop playing until they make some new servers so it can be even for everyone?
Wall of text/rant over.
Ty!

Comments

• Welcome to the land of frustration bud. So many exploits, abuses, and nerfs to stuff like this I can't even count.. Makes anyone starting the game now at a HUGE disadvantage!
  • muzachmtmuzachmt United States
    Yes, pray for a new server. I've been playing since day 1 of the official-no more wipes-headstart and even before the nerf, books weren't exactly easy to obtain. Now the economy is so far from repair, that even 6+ hours a day of grinding profitable pve areas doesn't allow me to buy the books needed to be competitive in PVP. Not to mention that you need to travel with 10+ people to have any safety, as reds travel in groups and will 10,15,20v1 you without an ounce of care.
  • I have to agree with the OP. I started on the 1/1/19 . I am curently looking at 100g needed to get the ability's i need for my mage. The shops where i can find the books are all near starting graveyards and have bags full of books.

It was explained to me that they droped in the early days in the starting areas.